My Current Favorite Genealogy Websites

A basic Google search for genealogy websites returns 932,000 pages, now that is a lot of pages to review, who has time for that? I know I don’t and most likely you don’t either. That is why I am here today. I am going to share with you some of my favorite genealogy sites that have proved to be invaluable to me.  These are not your typical sites with searchable databases where you will find your long lost second great-aunt, these are sites that will teach you a thing or two, or will allow you to help others in their family history.  All are free and require no subscription. I have not been paid to endorse any, I am sharing these because I enjoy them so much and they have helped me over the years. Without any further ado, listed in no particular order…

“American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.”

Free books on the history of the Great Lakes Region of the United States, including the states of Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, and Wisconsin.

A website hosted by The Library of Congress that provides newspaper pages from 1789-1924.

“RAOGK Volunteers donating their time free genealogy research task in their local area as an act of kindness.” Do a little good and help out your fellow man. Since this is rather new, there are few volunteers. In fact, my home state of Indiana has only twenty-seven people signed up!

Learn from someone else’s experience and mistakes. The site offers free webinars on a variety of topics as well as tools to help you in your newspaper research.

Saved the best for last, one of my absolute favorites. This site offers millions, and I mean, millions of books and other forms of media at no cost. I used it just the other day to search a history from one of the countries my ancestors lived in.

Hopefully, I have introduced you to something new and if not share these sites with a friend, I guarantee that they will benefit from these amazing sites just as I have.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑